Mon Tour du Mont Blanc

The Association of Tour of Mont Blanc Hut Managers

The Association of Tour of Mont Blanc Hut Managers was officially formed on 1st December 2011.

Two years after the launch of the Autour du Mont-Blanc project by the Plan Intégré Transfrontalier Espace Mont Blanc (PIT EMB), the Association des Gardiens des Refuges et des Gites du Tour Mont Blanc (Association of Tour of Mont Blanc Hut Managers) was formed.

With the charter approved and filed with the relevant office, on Thursday 1st December 2011 representatives of 30 of the 51 TMB huts and gîtes met at the Majestic Conference Centre in Chamonix to take part in the Association's first General Assembly.

In the presence of Yann Jaccaz, then Vice-president of the Syndicat Mixte du Pays du Mont-Blanc, and representatives from the council of Chamonix, the hut managers founded an organisation with the principle aim of coordinating the activities of the buildings that host thousands of hikers from all over the world every year.

The assembly elected statutory bodies, nominated a secretary (Mr Jean Michel Romero - Gîte Mermoud, Valllorcine), a treasurer (Mrs Catherine Botholier - Refuge du Fioux, Saint-Gervais), two vice-presidents (Mrs Patricia Mollard - Nant Borrant hut, Les Contamines for France and Mrs Marie Jeanne Ropraz-Murisier - Relais d'Arpette for Switzerland) and the President, Renzino Cosson from the Bertone hut, Courmayeur. He is a legendary Courmayeur guide and a charismatic figure, responsible for founding the Fondazione Montagna Sicura (Safe Mountain Foundation).